Sunday, March 8, 2015

Stage set for CIS men . . . Tory stumping for new arena . . . Who got paid what at Woodstock?

The U of Alberta Golden Bears will be the No. 1 seed when the CIS men’s hockey championship begins in Halifax on Thursday. It will be the third straight year that the Golden Bears, who are the defending champions, go in as the top seed.
The seedings:
Alberta Golden Bears (CWUAA champions: 24-3-1 regular season / 4-0 playoffs)
UNB Varsity Reds (AUS champions: 22-4-2 regular season / 5-2 playoffs)
Guelph Gryphons (OUA champions: 11-13-3 regular season / 7-2 playoffs)
UQTR Patriotes (OUA finalists: 19-4-3 regular season / 6-1 playoffs)
Acadia Axemen (AUS finalists: 20-5-3 regular season / 3-4 playoffs)
Calgary Dinos (CWUAA finalists: 20-8-0 regular season / 2-3 playoffs)
Windsor Lancers (OUA bronze medallists: 22-4-1 regular season / 5-3 playoffs)
StFX X-Men (host team, AUS semi-finalists: 17-9-2 regular season / 4-3 playoffs)
THE SCHEDULE (all times Atlantic time):
Thursday, March 12
1 p.m. — Quarter-final 1: No. 6 Calgary vs. No. 3 Guelph.
7 p.m. — Quarter-final 2: No. 7 Windsor vs. No. 2 UNB.
Friday, March 13
1 p.m. — Quarter-final 3: No. 5 Acadia vs. No. 4 UQTR.
7 p.m. — Quarter-final 4: No. 8 StFX vs. No. 1 Alberta.
Saturday, March 14
Noon — Semifinal 1: Winner QF 1 vs. Winner QF 2.
4 p.m. — Semifinal 2: Winner QF 3 vs. Winner QF 4.
Sunday, March 15
2 p.m. — Bronze.
6:30 p.m. — Final.
The semifinals and final will be televised on Sportsnet 360. All tournament games will be webcast at, although the semifinals and final will be pay-per-view. Quarter-final games and the third-place game will be available on Eastlink TV.
The tournament will be loaded with former WHL players. By my count, there are at least 68 ex-WHLers on the rosters of the eight teams. Here’s a look . . .
ACADIA (7): Sam Fioretti, Zach Franko, Brandon Glover, Boston Leier, Taylor Makin, Matt Pufahl, Joel Ridgeway,
ALBERTA (25): Colin Archer, Dylan Bredo, Thomas Carr, Jesse Craige, Jamie Crooks, Zack Dailey, Josh Derko, James Dobrowolski, Brett Ferguson, T.J. Foster, Jordan Hickmott, Riley Kieser, Levko Koper, Johnny Lazo, Stephane Legault, Kurtis Mucha, Drew Nichol, Rhett Rachinski, Kruise Reddick, Jordan Rowley, Luke Siemens, Jarrett Toll, Travis Toomey, Mitch Topping, Brennan Yadlowski,
CALGARY (21): Dylan Busenius, Chris Collins, Jacob DeSerres, Drydn Dow, Spencer Edwards, Cain Franson, Danny Gayle, Dan Gibb, Colton Grant, Ryan Harrison, Adam Kambeitz, Kevin King, Kris Lazaruk, Chance Lund, Elgin Pearce, Max Ross, Aspen Sterzer, Phil Tot, Davis Vandane, Dylan Walchuk, Walker Wintoneak.
GUELPH (3): Teal Burns, Keith Hamilton, Seth Swenson.
ST. FX (8): Morgan Clark, Jagger Dirk, Blake Gal, Cole Grbavac, Steve Kuhn, Bronson Maschmeyer, Drew Owsley, Ted Stephens.
UNB (2): Cam Braes, Dylan Willick.
UQTR (0)
WINDSOR (2): Isak Quakenbush, Daulton Siwak.

Bob Tory, a part-owner and the general manager of the Tri-City Americans, is of the opinion that the Toyota Center, which houses his WHL team, has surpassed its best-before date. The facility is 27 years of age and, Tory believes, it’s time for a new arena. . . . Kristi Pihl of the Tri-City Herald has more right here.


Eastern Conference
Brandon vs. Edmonton
Medicine Hat vs. Kootenay
Regina vs. Swift Current
Calgary vs. Red Deer
Western Conference
Kelowna vs. Tri-City
Everett vs. Spokane
Victoria vs. Prince George
Portland vs. Seattle
(NOTE: Team with home-ice advantage shown first.)


No Games Scheduled


No Games Scheduled


(all times local)
Regina at Prince Albert, 7 p.m.
Moose Jaw at Brandon, 7 p.m.
Lethbridge vs. Kootenay, at Cranbrook, 7 p.m.
Saskatoon at Edmonton, 7 p.m.
Spokane at Vancouver, 7 p.m.


(all times local)
Regina at Swift Current, 7 p.m.
Saskatoon at Red Deer, 7 p.m.
Prince George at Kamloops, 7 p.m.
Portland at Everett, 7:05 p.m.
Victoria at Kelowna, 7:05 p.m.

There has never been a subscription fee for this blog, but if you enjoy stopping by here, why not consider donating to the cause? Just click HERE. . . and thank you very much.

  © Design byThirteen Letter

Back to TOP